University of Nebraska-Lincoln Extension in Merrick County delivers research-based education and information to citizens throughout the county. These educational programs, delivered via a variety of methods, are offered through a federal, state and county partnership arrangement. Our objective is to provide programs and other educational resources locally.

Our staff of extension educator and extension specialists, technicians, and support personnel specializes is providing programs throughout the county, and together with staff from all of Nebraska's 93 counties, we contribute to more than 1.5 million educational contacts each year with Nebraska citizens. Our 4-H Youth Development Program, for example, reaches more than 400 youth in Merrick County alone. Statewide, 4-H touches the lives of more than 90,000 youth each year.

University of Nebraska–Lincoln Extension is built to provide practical education that focuses on issues which influence daily life that helps to keep Nebraska competitive in a global society. Extension Specialists and Extension Educators are committed to a theme of excellence with educational programs customized to meet the needs of Nebraskans.

Merrick County Extension OfficeCourthouse Picture
1784 Fairgrounds Road
Central City, NE 68826-0027
Phone: (308) 946-3843
  Map to our office


Steve Melvin
Ag Educator, Water and Cropping Systems

Phone: (308) 946-3843

Emily Soll
4-H Educator, 4-H Youth Development

Phone: (308) 946-3843

Kara Wells
4-H Extension Assistant - 4-H Youth Development

Phone: (308) 946-3843

Cindie Hostler
Office Manager

Phone: (308) 946-3843

Sherry Siwinski
Office Assistant

Phone: (308) 946-3843

Merrick County Agricultural Society

The Merrick County Agricultural Society meets once a month and consists of fifteen members from across the county. The Extension Educator sits in on meetings as an advisor and liason between 4-H and the ag society. They provide the activities and entertainment at the fair, and oversee the upkeep and rental of the fairgrounds.

Russ Kucera, President                  308-940-1013

Isaac Jefferson, Vice President   308-940-1597

Troy Wells, Secretary                     308-940-0333

Brad Wells, Treasurer                     308-940-0028

Dale Nielson Jr.                                 308-986-2595

Aaron Huston                                    308-940-2691

Eric Frauen                                         308-380-8052

Josh Trumblee                                   402-322-1845

Jake Etherton                                    308-750-7904

Kelly Brandes                                     402-440-0369

Matt Myers                                        308-940-0335

Jess Brandes                                      308-940-0208

Ryan Grigsby                                      308-940-2541

Tim Williams                                       308-850-6291

Mikaela Stuart                                   402-710-8373

Merrick County Extension Board

The Merrick County Cooperative Extension Board, the governing body of the County Cooperative Extension, is made up of eight (8) members plus the chair of the 4-H Leaders Council. Term of office is for three years beginning with the January meeting for the appointed members. The chair of the 4-H Council serves as an Extension Board member as long as he/she is chair of the 4-H Council. The budgeting authority is the Board of Supervisors, with Extension Board members appointed by the Board of Supervisors.

Lori Cave, President                                        308-548-8598       

Kerry Stuhmer, Vice President                   308-940-1918          

Nicole Greving, Secretary/Treasurer        308-940-0992          

Cheyenne Rowe, Member                            402-215-3028          

Karen Benner, Member                                 308-946-5185          

Nathan Carlson, Member                             308-940-1573          

Heath Reimers, 4-H Council Rep.               308-940-0269        

Carolyn Kucera, Supervisor Liason

Merrick County 4-H Council

The 4-H section of the Merrick County Cooperative Extension program is planned by the assistance given to the Extension Educators by the 4-H Leaders Council. All 4-H Leaders and Jr. Leaders are members of the Council and Executive committee officers are elected as the governing body.

Heath Reimers, President                  308-940-0269

Justin Ferris, Vice President             308-940-0940

Shanien Schmierer, Secretary           308-940-1781 or

Matt Mottl, Treasurer                         308-379-7724

Ryan Kucera, East Rep                       402-322-9137

Chase Samuelson, West Rep             308-380-1786

Mike Siwinski, Central Rep               308-946-4701

Jess Brandes, At-Large Rep              308-940-0208

Kayden Tyan, Jr. Leader East Rep

Makenna Mottl, Jr Leader West Rep

Londyn Fisher, Jr. Leader Central Rep

Lane Mottl, Jr. Leader At Large Rep