Extension's greatest resource is its people. And that resource starts at its core with an administrative staff with varied skills and strengths. The administrators who lead Nebraska Extension focus on their specific programs, while working collaboratively to provide the greatest service and support to the entire community of employees and those they serve.

The core strength of the group is the solid background they bring to Nebraska's leadership. The administrators represent a combined 130 years of experience in service to the Extension community. This depth of background greatly benefits the organization, its employees and the constituents they serve.

Our administrators serve not as hands-off leaders, but work in close collaboration with people in Nebraska and the wider University. They are both educators and practitioners in their field and are passionate about the work they do and the impact they are having on the world.

Meet our Administration Team

dave varner

Dave Varner

Interim Dean and Director

402-472-2966
dave.varner@unl.edu

Varner began his extension career with a college internship in 1986. Since then, he has served as an Extension assistant, educator, associate district director, and held interim director positions at the Southeast Research and Extension Center and the Eastern Nebraska Research and Extension Center, both located near Mead. He has served as associate dean and director since January 2017.

Kathleen Lodl

Kathleen Lodl

Associate Dean

State 4-H Program Administrator

Human Sciences, Family, Youth, and Community Development

402-472-9012
klodl1@unl.edu

Rick Rasby

Rick Rasby

Associate Dean

Agriculture and Natural Resources and Community Development

402-472-6477
rrasby1@unl.edu

JeanAnn Fischer

JeanAnn Fischer

Program Leader

Nutrition and Health Sciences

402-472-4517
jfischer6@unl.edu

Dan Cotton

Dan Cotton

Director of Integrated Technologies

402-472-2821
dcotton1@unl.edu

lisa kaslon

Lisa Kaslon

Professional Development Coordinator

402-910-4274
lkaslon2@unl.edu

Michael Bergland-Riese

Michael Bergland-Riese

Extension Communications Coordinator

402-472-9053
riese@unl.edu

Linda Tempel

Linda Tempel

Faculty & Staff Development Coordinator

402-472-3967
ltempel1@unl.edu

Angie Rushman

Angie Rushman

Project & Instructional Technologist

402-472-3946
arushman2@unl.edu

Carla Werner

Carla Werner

Administrative Associate

402-472-3987
cwerner1@unl.edu

Eric Buck

Eric Buck

Office Associate

402-472-1576
ebuck3@unl.edu

Keith Neimann

Keith Neimann

Consultant

402-472-2966
kniemann1@unl.edu