Nebraska Extension in Gage County
Tractor Safety Training Required by Law for Teen Farm/Ranch Workers
Federal law prohibits youth under 16 years of age from using specific equipment on a farm unless parents or legal guardians own the farm. Certification received through a course provided by Nebraska Extension grants an exemption to the law, allowing 14- and 15-year-olds to drive a tractor and work with certain mechanized equipment.
The most common cause of agricultural-related death in Nebraska is overturned tractors and all-terrain vehicles (ATVs). Employing anyone uncertified under age 16 is a liability risk for farmers if those children operate such equipment.
Home is the place you grow up wanting to leave - and grow old wanting to come back to.
Refer to this list when making your project selection on 4-H Online enrollment: https//ne4honline.com
Enrollment deadline is May 1, 2018
Membership Fee $10, payable at the Extension Office (cash or check)
YOUR PRIVATE PESTICIDE APPLICATORS PERMIT IS EXPIRING
Recertify or Certify by one of five methods:
Nov 19 – Women involved in agricultural production and management or who are interested in learning more about ag business are encouraged to attend Annie’s Project, a six-week educational course set to begin Jan. 28 in Beatrice. Read more
Nov 14 – Experts from the University of Nebraska–Lincoln have prepared 78 budgets on 15 crops, predicting price expectations for input costs for 2019. Read more