Johnson County 4-H Council

2020 Members

Kirk Bartels, West Elk Creek

Sharon Heusman, Sterling Livestock

Jim Erickson, Spoons & Spools

Sioux Baumgartner, Future of America Leaders (F.O.A.L.)

Cristine Andrews, East Tecumseh

Flo Jones, Johnson County Mustangs

Emily Little, Spring Creek Shooters


Member Responsibilities

The responsibility of the Council is to...

  1. Secure and manage private resources and fund-raising efforts to support local 4-H youth development programs.
  2. Assist in planning and executing a well-balanced program for 4-H youth with both short- and long-term goals.
  3. Support local policy development, while understanding and abiding by state and national guidelines.
  4. Promote volunteer leadership development and empower adults and youth to assume leadership roles in the 4-H program.
  5. Serve as a community connector between the 4-H program and the Extension Board, Agricultural Society (Fair Board), other youth organizations, and the public.
  6. Advocate the philosophy of the 4-H youth development program and serve as an advocate for youth.
  7. Develop and maintain a robustly active Council membership that works in cooperation with the Extension staff to have a strong program in the best interest of youth.
  8. Provide a recognition program for volunteers and youth in the 4-H program.


Meeting Schedule

Third Monday of....

  • January
  • March
  • May
  • July
  • September
  • November