University of Nebraska–Lincoln Extension in Buffalo County

Nebraska Extension in Buffalo County delivers research-based education and information to citizens throughout the county. These educational programs, delivered via a variety of methods, are offered through a federal, state and county partnership arrangement. Our objective is to provide programs and other educational resources locally.

Our staff of extension personel have access to extension educators, extension specialists, technicians, and support personnel who specialize in providing programs throughout all of Nebraska's 93 counties. We contribute to more than 1.5 million educational contacts each year with Nebraska citizens. Our 4-H Youth Development Program, for example, reaches more than 640 youth in Buffalo County alone. Statewide, 4-H touches the lives of more than 90,000 youth each year.

University of Nebraska–Lincoln Extension is built to provide practical education that focuses on issues which influence daily life that helps to keep Nebraska competitive in a global society. Extension Specialists and Extension Educators are committed to a theme of excellence with educational programs customized to meet the needs of Nebraskans.

 

Buffalo County Extension Office

1400 E 34 Street
Kearney, NE 68847
Phone: (308)236-1235
E-mail: buffalo-county@unl.edu
Fax: (308)234-6319
Hours: 8:00am -5:00pm M-F
Closed on Federal Holidays

Resident Staff

Brent Plugge, Extension Educator
Beef Systems
brent.plugge@unl.edu

Kerry Elsen, Extension Educator, Unit Leader
4-H Youth Development
kerry.elsen@unl.edu

Ranae Aspen, Extension Assistant
Food, Nutrition & Health
ranae.aspen@unl.edu

Amber Gapp, Support Staff
amber.gapp@unl.edu

Jenny Kreikemeier, Support Staff
jenny.kreikemeier@unl.edu

Regional Staff

Elizabeth Exstrom, Extension Educator
Horticulture, Community Environment
elizabeth.exstrom@unl.edu
308-385-5088

Sarah Sivits, Extension Educator
Innovative Cropping & Water Systems
sarah.sivits@unl.edu
308-324-5501

Lynn DeVries, Extension Educator
Early Childhood
lynn.devries@unl.edu
402-461-7209

Sandra Barrera
Community Vitality
sandra.barrera@unl.edu
308-385-5088