Finiancial Assistance

We are quickly approaching operating loan renewal season for farms and ranches. This year, obtaining farm or ranch operating loan may be difficult for some producers due to low working capital and low crop/cattle prices. It is likely that some producers in your community will not receive a bank loan to farm/ranch or may need to find a different lender in 2017.

To help producers navigate this period of low prices, there are three levels resources available.

  1. Financial Literacy Group  - Nebraska Extension has trained 21 Educators in two workshops (1) Quicken for Farm and Ranch Record Keeping and (2) Financial Literacy: Basic Financial Documents. If you are looking for basic financial information, please contact the Trained Educator closest to you (List 2 found below).
  2. The Farm and Ranch Management Team – The Farm and Ranch Management Group (Ag Econ) is a group of specialists and educators who work in various areas of management. Examples: finance, lease agreements and estate planning. (List 1 found below).
  3. The Farm/Ranch Hotline - If you need immediate help, please refer to the Nebraska Farm/Ranch Hotline 1-800-464-0258. Hotline information: Through the toll-free Nebraska Farm Hotline, an attorney will provide financial, legal, counseling services and referrals.  The Farm Hotline also offers the No Cost Mental Health Services program, which offers no cost vouchers for confidential mental health services for persons affected by the rural crisis.  Another service is farm legal and financial clinics, sponsored by the Nebraska Department of Ag., through this service family farmers and ranchers can get one-on-one advice on financial matters and legal issues.  Clinics are held regularly in Ainsworth, Alliance, Norfolk, Beatrice, Grand Island, Lexington and North Platte. 

List 1 - The Farm & Ranch Management Group

 

List 2 - Trained Educators

Jack

Arterburn

jack.arterburn@unl.edu

308-249-3717

Rushville

Box Butte, Dawes, Sheridan, Sioux

Sandra

Barrera

Sandra.barrera@unl.edu

308-380-6915

Grand Island

Hall, Buffalo, Dawson, Adams

Dennis

Bauer

dbauer1@unl.edu

402-387-2213

Ainsworth

Statewide.

Aaron

Berger

aberger2@unl.edu

308-235-3122

Kimball

Scottsbluff, Banner, Kimball, Morrill, Cheyenne, Deuel, Garden

Karen

DeBoer

kdeboer1@unl.edu

308-254-4455

Sidney

Banner, Kimball, Cheyenne, Deuel

Cheryl

Griffith

cgriffith2@unl.edu

402-472-0079

Lincoln

Statewide

Jessica

Groskopf

jgroskopf2@unl.edu

308-632-1247

Scottsbluff

Panhandle District

Jay

Jenkins

jjenkins2@unl.edu

402-376-1850

Valentine

Cherry, Brown, Rock, Keya Paha

Bethany

Johnston

Bjohnston3@unl.edu

308-645-2267

Thedford

Blaine, Thimas, Hooker, Grant

Erin

Laborie

erin.laborie@unl.edu

308-268-3105

Beaver City

Chase, Dundy, Hayes, Hitchcock, Frontier, Red Willow, Gosper, Furnas, Phelps, Harlan

Steve

Niemeyer

sniemeyer1@unl.edu

308-346-4200

Burwell

Garfield, Loup, Wheeler, Holt, Boyd

Brent

Plugge

brent.plugge@unl.edu

308-236-1235

Kearney

Buffalo, Dawson and Hall

Randy

Saner

rsaner2@unl.edu

308-532-2683

North Platte

Logan, McPherson, Lincoln, Keith, Perkins, Arthur

Sarah

Schlund

sarah.schlund@unl.edu

308-324-5501

Lexington

Dawson, Buffalo, Hall

Gary

Stauffer

gstauffer1@unl.edu

402-336-2760

O'Neill

Holt, Boyd, Wheeler, Garfield, Loup

Robert

Tigner

rtigner2@unl.edu

308-345-3390

McCook

Hayes Hitchcock Red Willow & Frontier

Amy

Timmerman

atimmerman2@unl.edu

402-335-2760

O'neill

Nebraska

Brandy

VanDeWalle

brandy.vandewalle@unl.edu

402-759-3712

Geneva

Clay, Fillmore

Allan

Vyhnalek

avyhnalek2@unl.edu

402-563-4901

Columbus

Platte, Boone, Nance

Troy

Walz

twalz1@unl.edu

308-872-6831

Broken Bow

Custer, Valley, Sherman, Greeley, Howard

Todd

Whitney

twhitney3@unl.edu

308-995-4222

Holdrege, NE

Furnas, Harlan, Gosper and Phelps