NU Panhandle Alumni chapter recognizes Alumni of the Year

John Stinner Panhandle Alumni Award winner

John Stinner (right) receives the 2014 Panhandle Alumni of the Year Award from Sandy Massey, 2014 winner.

Posted Aug. 25, 2015

John Stinner of Gering has received the 2015 Alumni of the Year Award from the University of Nebraska Panhandle Alumni Chapter. The award was presented at the chapter's annual Founders' Dinner Thursday by Sandy Massey, the 2014 winner.

The Alumni of the Year Award recognizes individuals in the Panhandle who have supported NU with their attendance at various University activities, promoted UNL in their communities and been actively involved in their communities and successful in their careers.

Stinner represents the 48th Legislative District in the Nebraska Legislature, serves as CEO of Valley Bank and Trust Co., and was the 2013-14 chairman of the Nebraska Bankers Association. He has dedicated his time to more than 20 civic organizations, including as president of Gering School Board, Twin Cities Development, and others.

A native of the Pittsburgh area, Stinner played football for NU as a member of the 1970 and 1971 national championship teams. He received a bachelor's degree in business administration and earned dual master's degrees in economics and accounting from UNL. He moved to Scotts Bluff County more than 26 years ago with his wife, Rita, and children John and Cecilia. He and a local group of investors opened a bank in downtown Gering and he has been president and CEO of Valley Bank and Trust and Western States Bank since their inception.

Stinner began his first term with the Unicameral in January 2015. He serves on the Appropriations Committee and is vice chair of the Building and Maintenance Committee. He introduced eight bills during his first term, of which four were passed and two remain in committee until next term.

Also at the annual dinner, recipients of Panhandle Alumni Scholarships were announced, including Jasie Beam of Gering High School, Jordan Burgener of Gering High School, Aubrey Ford of Scottsbluff High School, Jake Johnson of Potter Dix High School, and Kyra Willats of Scottsbluff High School.

Officers for 2015 are President, John Marshall; vice president Leslie Shaver; secretary, Karen Helberg; treasurer, John Flint; past president Mark Schlothauer; and finance committee members Bryan Barrett and John Schmall.