4-H Meats

The 4-H Meats program is open to ALL 4-H MEMBERS regardless of project carried.  Under the capable leadership of Curt Rickertsen, and before that Dave Stenberg, the tradition of outstanding meats teams continues.  Dawson County has a legacy of Championship teams through the years.

Learn where all those good cuts of meat come from, how they are cooked and their nutritional value.  You too can become a wise consumer.

The 2017 Meats Program began February 14th and culminates with the State Contest held at PASE (Premier Animal Science Event) in Lincoln.  Following is the balance of the workouts for this year:

Tuesday, April 25, 2017             7:00 pm            Plum Creek Market        Retail ID & Quiz

Tuesday, May 2, 2017                7:00 pm            Plum Creek Market        Retail ID & Quiz

Tuesday, May 9, 2017                7:00 pm            Plum Creek Market        Retail ID & Quiz

Tuesday, May 16, 2017              7:00 pm            Plum Creek Market        Retail ID & Quiz

Tuesday, May 23, 2017              7:00 pm            Plum Creek Market        County Contest

Tuesday, May 30, 2017              7:00 pm            Plum Creek Market        Retail ID, Quiz & Judging

Tuesday, June 6, 2017               7:00 pm            Plum Creek Market        Retail ID, Quiz & Judging

Tuesday, June 13, 2017             7:00 pm            Plum Creek Market        Retail ID, Quiz & Judging

Tuesday, June 20, 2017             7:00 pm            Plum Creek Market        Retail ID, Quiz & Judging

Monday, June 26, 2017                                      PASE @ UNL